"Live Peace – Speak Kindness – Dwell in Possibility" ~Amanda Tapping

October 2006- Past Projects, Vintage Dress, Witches Hat

October 13, 2006: A few past projects….

Here are a couple of projects that I have done over the past year:

The first 2 were Christmas gifts last year. The little Peppermint guy was for my daughter gave to her teacher and the choker was for a friend and is my own design:

The next 2 I made for my LYS. The Jacket, they chose the pattern and there is quite a story behind that jacket and it was a pain in the butt! I also finished the jacket while camping, hence the cabins and grill in the background LOL
The scarf is my own design using the same shell stitch as in the jacket:


And finally, my favorite, but I atually made her 2 years ago around Christmas time, my Blue Faerie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

October 15, 2006: A Vintage Thread Crocheted Dress…

…That my Grandmother made about 50 years ago…





She is the one who taught me all that I know about crochet (then I expanded on it myself).
My grandmother was also just recently diagnosed with Alzheimers and even before then, she was loosing her ability to crochet. She can go through the motions of the stitches, but she is unable to make anything like she used to.

My mother wore this dress when she was a young child, then I did, then my daughter did. I now have it hanging in my living room as a piece of art. I am so proud to have this piece that she so lovingly made for her daughter and that it is still in such wonderful condition considering the age of it.

I feel like I have a little piece of her in my house (she is living in Florida with my parents and I don’t know when I will see her again before “her time”) and I remember all of the wonderful times that I had crocheting with her.
This is me wearing the dress in 1972 LOL

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

October 21, 2006: Knotted Cables Pullover ~ FINISHED

I finally got it done… YAYE!!!

I think that I am happy with it, although I wish that I would have added another inch or two to the sleeve length (I did add one inch already) and I almost wish that I did the medium instead of small. I am one of those odd sizes. I have long arms and torso and my shoulders are actually wider than they look so I always have to adjust the patterns because I am not a small, but not a medium either LOL

So, I’ll have to deal with an almost 3/4 length sleeve even though I don’t like that length
The length for the body was perfect though.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

October 28, 2006:Witchie Poo….

I made a witch’s hat! I Love it, I wish that I could get away with wearing it all year long LOL
I found the pattern on Crochetville and it is super simple. I just used the Red Heard Super Saver and an H/5.00mm hook to make the hat. The only thing that I did different from the original pattern was add an “eyelash” yarn to the edge of the brim. I love that yarn, but it was kind of difficult to work with.
It has a really cool name though. It’s from the JoAnn Sensation’s Embellishment Collection call “Fairy Dust”

This is what the Fairy Dust Yarn looks like, It’s almost thread-like…

I’m still wearing the hat LOL

Leave a Reply

Digital Portraits Commissions Available

Amigurumi Adipose

Photo Tutorial for the Fingers and Toes Only

~*~

Amigurumi "Fat" Baby Pattern FAQ & Errata

This Errata post is for my original pattern of the Amigurumi "Fat" Baby that was available before September 12, 2014

Please refer to this page for any questions about the Amigurumi "Fat" Baby, or you can download the new updated Amigurumi Adipose pattern.

~*~

Amigurumi Adipose

My Amigurumi Adipose pattern has been featured on BBCAmerica.com along with other great Doctor Who Crochet and Knit patterns.

Current Project

Allen's Oxygen Tank Backpack







Visitors

  • 69,485
free counters


Background Image Credit:
squidfingers.com

Live - Laugh - Love Frame
Photoshop Brush Credit:
The Scrappin Cop
