"Live Peace – Speak Kindness – Dwell in Possibility" ~Amanda Tapping

Amigurumi “Fat” Baby FAQ and Errata

I’ve had many people over the years message and email me with questions about my pattern, so I decided to make a FAQ/Errata Master Post.

 

* This is the FAQ and Errata for the original Amigurumi “Fat” Baby pattern downloaded before September 12, 2012*

The updated pattern can be downloaded HERE

There is now a Photo Tutorial for the Fingers and Toes/Foot Only

~*~

1. “When you said to ‘ch 10 and join’ then ‘ch 1, 15 sc around starting chain’, what did you mean?”

I meant is that you need to do is increase evenly, meaning you will make 2 single crochets every other stitch: single crochet in same chain as joining, 2 single crochet in next chain, *single crochet, 2 single crochet*, repeat the part between the * until there are 15 stitches, then continue on without joining, working in a spiral making sure to use a stitch marker to mark the last stitch of the row and move it up accordingly.

2. “I was wondering if it’s not too much trouble could you rephrase Rnd 7 and 8 [of the arm]?

For Rnds 7 & 8:

[Rnd 7 – sc in next 3 sc, sc in next sc, [sc, dc, sc] in next sc, sc in next 7, 2 sc in next sc,
sc each sc around, move up marker (19 sc, 1 dc)]

In this round you are making the increase to make the thumb in the next round:

single crochet in the next 3 single crochet from the previous round after the stitch marker (you should be working in a spiral, do not join the rounds). single crochet in the next single crochet, then single crochet, double crochet, single crochet in the next single crochet (all 3 stitches should be made in the same stitch of the previous round, making a 2 stitch increase). single crochet in the next 7 single crochet. 2 single crochet in the next single crochet (increase made). single crochet to end of the round and move up the stitch marker.

[Rnd 8 – sc in next 4 sc, draw up loop in next sc, skip dc, slip stitch in next sc (thumb made) sc in each sc around]

In this round you are decreasing a stitch, which will be the double crochet, but I think I might have a typo here though, I think it should read:

single crochet in the next 3 (not 4) single crochet. now in the 1st single crochet of the [sc, dc, sc] increase, insert the hook into stitch and pull a loop through, then skipping the double crochet, insert the hook into the next single crochet and make a slip stitch and pull tight behind the double crochet. the double crochet should “pop out” on the front of the work thus making the thumb. then just single crochet around as normal.

3. “I’m kind of confused after round 1. it says do not join and to work in spirals. I don’t know what that means.

Well, basically you just keep on crocheting. When you reach the very 1st stitch of the round, place a stitch marker in the last stitch of the round, then crochet in the 1st stitch of the round and each stitch there after until you reach the stitch marker, then remove the maker, crochet in that stitch, then replace the stitch marker and repeat the entire processes.

4. I’ve had a few questions about the stitch count on the body after Rnd 5.

If this helps, all ending stitch counts on the rnds should be a multiple of 7 (7×1, 7×2, 7×3, 7×4, etc)

(Row counts are off by one stitch starting at Rnd 5. Rnds 5-26 should have 1 more stitch than indicated. Rnds 28-31 continue with the correct counts.)

5. The stitch counts for Rnds 6&7 [of the arm] are wrong.

Rnd 6 is supposed to have 17sc and Rnd 7 is supposed to have 19sc & 1dc.

6. Problem: The foot.

The pattern reads-
Rnd 3 – Working in back loop, sc in next 8 sts, working in both loops, sc, trc, sc in the next 5 dc (toes made), working in back look, sc in next 4 sts, move up marker (22 sc, 5 trc)

The first 6 sts only should be sc, not the first 8. Same with the rest of the foot.

Rnd 3 is supposed to have 20 sc, not 22, and rnds 4&5 are supposed to have 10 sc, not 12.

What foot looks like from the top:

Photo Sep 11, 11 59 59 PM

7. Problem: working the fingers and closing the hand in Rnd 9.

*New rewritten Rnd 9 as of 09/11/14:

Rnd 9 – sc in next 4 sc (flatten work), skip thumb, dc in sc after thumb (The side of work that is facing you and the thumb is now pointing at the hand holding the hook is now considered the front side. The side facing away from you is now the back side), dc in sc in the back side that is parallel to the front dc just made, slip stitch in next sc in the front side and back side together (first finger made), [dc in next sc in front side, dc in next sc in back side, slip stitch in next sc in front side and back side together] 3x’s (3 fingers made) There will be 1 sc that will be left unworked. (8 dc and 4 sl sts = 4 fingers)

Photo Sep 11, 10 16 00 PM

Photo Sep 11, 10 15 51 PM

Photo Sep 11, 10 17 09 PM

Photo Sep 11, 10 40 12 PM

 

Photo Sep 11, 11 04 05 PM

*front side is the side facing you, back side is the side facing away from you*

You do need to pull the slip stitches snug though to keep the stuffing from poking out.

I originally had #7 up with #2, but I recently had gotten 2 emails in as many weeks that had problems with understanding how to close the hand, so I decided to put it on it’s own.

8. How to Crochet a Magic Ring:

Also known as a crocheted Magic Loop. So far I’ve only had one person ask me this, but I felt it worth to put it here anyway. I recently found a good tutorial on how to do this. It has nice photos with the written instruction, and it also includes a link to youtube for a video tutorial.

How to Crochet a Magic Ring by Kara on petalstopicots.com

~*~

It is possible that more FAQs or Errata may be added in the future.

If you have any other questions, please email me at midknightstarr@gmail.com

Thank you

The pattern can be downloaded HERE

Photo Tutorial for the Fingers and Toes/Foot can be found HERE

9 responses

  1. hi… thank you for the awesome pattern…. I’ve been doing crochet since I woz a young girl but only just started out with patterns… am really struggling with the arms/thumbs section… I don’t suppose you have a video of how its done step by step pleez??? if I can ‘see’ what needs doing then I can follow things ok but when its just text… it seems to get muddled in me head :/ lol Thanx again for everything… am hoping to finish it by the w/e so my son can take it to his wife in America next week LOL ****HAPPY NEW YEAR**** xXx

    Like

    December 31, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    • Hi, unfortunately I don’t have any instructional videos. I haven’t the setup at this time to make them. I’m sorry you’re having problems with the arms. Feel free to email me if you have any questions at all.

      Jennifer

      Like

      January 19, 2014 at 12:54 pm

  2. Pingback: My Very Own Adipose | L-Squared.Org

  3. sherri

    Hi, Im really stuck on the hand! are you able to take some pictures of the steps? (im a visual person). when do you flatten the hand? when you say ‘single crochet to thumb’, do you keep going around until you get to the thumb? or do you do a sc into the front post of the thumb? or the top loop?

    thanks in advance

    Like

    June 16, 2014 at 12:37 am

    • Hi Sherri, I might be able to do pictures, but I’m in the middle of a couple of other big projects right now, one which is in testing, so it wouldn’t be right away. When you flatten the hand is when you are getting ready to make the fingers. When I said “single crochet to thumb” I meant continue until you get to the thumb.

      I hope this helps 🙂

      Like

      June 16, 2014 at 1:17 pm

  4. I am only coming up with 19 sc and 1 dc on round 6 on the arm, no matter what I try I can’t come up with 21 sc and 1 dc….please help, this is for my new soon to be DIL….thank you

    Like

    September 8, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    • Actually, it seems you are correct. I just sat down and worked up a sample because the math wasn’t working out in my head this time. When I wrote the Errata, it was with the help of others. I haven’t made this project in 6 years. I think I will be making another and rewriting the pattern soon. I apologize for the confusion of the stitch counts. Thank you for bringing this to my attention 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      September 9, 2014 at 2:20 pm

  5. I’m sorry I meant round 7 not round 6

    Like

    September 8, 2014 at 2:36 pm

  6. Thank you so much for the quick reply, I went a head and finished it even without totally understanding it…lol…I got it finished and it looks pretty good…I don’t think I did the fingers correctly but tried anyway. I have had a bad head cold and I think this might have something to do with me figuring it out…lol…I usually am pretty good at reading patterns…again thank you making this pattern, My soon to be DIL saw a stress toy of this fat baby in the store and told me she squealed when she saw it so I know she will love it….it is a surprise and they do not leave near me so it is in the mail headed her way….again thanks

    Like

    September 11, 2014 at 11:36 am

Leave a comment